Interview – Margaret West


Today we are interviewing Margaret West. Greetings Margaret.

How did you get started writing?

I started working for Eon Productions (the James Bond movie makers) and loved the way the scriptwriters developed their storied around the table. I wrote my first novel while working there.

What achievement are you most proud of?

If we’re talking about achievements to do with writing, I think it has to be plugging on even though I was getting enough rejection letters to paper the walls of my house. I wanted to give up so many times. But I’m far to stubborn. If you set yourself a goal, don’t let anyone sway your from it..So many writers give up at this hurdle and its a shame because one publishers slush pile is anothers publication. I received a rejection letter and an acceptance letter on the same day for one of my novels.

What do you dislike most about what you do?

The enforced isolation. I have to be alone and in the quiet to write. Sometimes I feel very disconnected from everything around me especially if I am on a dead line. Thankfully my husband keeps me grounded with lots of cup of tea and gentle reminders about how long I have been in the office tapping away on my keyboard.

Where can fans follow you?

People can catch me on my blog
Facebook
Twitter
Web site

What part of a manuscript do you most enjoy writing?

‘The end’. Yes really lol. When that final paragraph comes together and everything is just right, that’s when I sit back and smile.

What are you working on now?

Well I have done romance, dark romance and , inspirational non fiction. So I’ve written across the board. As I am a working medium and teach various Psychic development classes, this time around I am writing a non fiction novel called A little bit of Spirit . Each chapter can stand alone and will cover all aspects of healing, Trance work, working with the spirit world and lots more.

How would describe your voice?

I usually write in the third voice. I find it easier. But I did write my non fiction in the first voice and it was so much harder. Power to those author who write in the first voice all the time. I take my hat off to them. I prefer to read work written in the third voice too.

What is your favorite television show?

At this moment I love Larkrise to candleford. I love historical romances and this encompasses it all. It’s is a British television costume drama series, adapted by the BBC from Flora Thompson’s trilogy of semi-autobiographical novels about life in the 19th century.

Do you have any pets?

Up to two weeks before Christmas 2009 I had two dogs. Milo was a Japanese Akita. A wonderful gentle giant who gave me endless love and enjoyment. He sat at my feet as soon as I went into the office and that’s where he stayed until I left. He died during an operation . It was unexpected and I was and still am, devastated. Left behind is Chester. A tiny Pomeranian, who sits beside my chair as always. He looks very lost sometimes, but he never attempts to sit in Milo’s place. I think we both know that nothing can replace our gentle, unassuming giant.

Do you have a hobby/favorite passtime?

My hobbie, if you can call it that. Is handbags. I have a handbag room in my house. Yes, you read correctly. How ostentatious, I hear you all mutter. But I just can’t help myself. The whole one side of the room is shelved and holds handbags of every colour, size and description. Not a month, occasion or event goes by when I don’t feel the need to buy a bag lol
—-
Thank you for visiting with us today.

April Dawn

One response to “Interview – Margaret West

  1. I enjoyed the interview. I used to buy handbags all the time, too, Margaret. What stopped me cold? My mother told everyone at a family gathering, I have more handbags than money to put in them! haha

    So now I buy books, books, and more books!

Leave a Reply

