Fashion in Books


I envy those writers who can describe an outfit so perfectly that I can visualize it. Unfortunately, I’m not one of those writers. Maybe it’s because I’ve never been a slave to fashion. I never wear anything just because its the ‘New In Thing’ or because it’s a designer name. I dress what makes me look good and what I feel comfortable wearing. No, I don’t wear sweat pants and t-shirts all the time but I’m also not wearing the latest fad. I have shirts and pants that have been in my drawers or closet for several years.  I like to dress nice, I hate looking like a slob.

So when it comes to writing what my characters are wearing, I tend to stumble. Especially when I have to describe my heroine in a gown. ‘Long flowing’ can only be used so much.  ‘Jeans and a shirt’ is so ordinary. It’s been a learning curve for me as a writer and so I ask you, the readers, to lend a hand. Teach me how to dress my characters. 🙂

Below are some pictures of celebs in formal wear and every day people in regular clothing. Describe one of the outfits for me and the best description will win a copy of my latest e-release, Surviving the Darkness. I’ll pick the winner at the end of the day.

Plus, you get to look at pretty clothes. 🙂

 

Shiela Stewart
www.shielasbooks.ca

Leave a Reply

