Interview – Tabitha Blake


Today we have Tabitha Blake. Thank you for stopping by Tabitha.

How did you get started writing?

I have always loved to write. It comes naturally to me. I have a very vivid imagination. English and Literature were the classes I enjoyed the most and excelled in. I’ve been an avid reader most of my life. I love to lose myself in a good book. So one day my husband asked me. Why don’t you write a book? That’s when it dawned on me. I am a natural when it comes to writing. Now don’t get me wrong, I struggle just like every other writer, but I love what I do. So I think writing has always been a part of who I am. I just needed that little outside push from my husband. He helped me believe I could do it.

Where would you like to go from here?

I think the only answer to that is up. I hope to be published soon. It is my dream to see readers outside of family and friends enjoy my work. To walk into a store and see someone reading the back of my book would be amazing. I would probably have to explain why I was staring at them. HeeHee! To know my work brought others joy would be the ultimate in my career as a writer.

What do you love most about what you do?

It is the most amazing thing when you write a story and take someone on a journey that you only imagined in your head. To see the joy they get from your writing. The amazement on their face when they ask where do you get your ideas from? I still haven’t figured that one out. I sit at my computer and it just flows. I guess that is what they call my muse. I love to see my stories and characters become something special to others as they read. I really love my characters and to see someone else love them as much as I do makes me over joyed.

How would you describe your love scenes?

Well my love scenes are hot and spicy. Is there any other way to write them? I think the reader is lead up to that point and you have to deliver or you lose them. There is nothing worse than a disappointing love scene. The males in my books are very dominate and sexual creatures. I think if you know your characters the love scenes flow onto the page easier. You know what they like and what they want. Their sexual desires are a big part of their character in a romance novel. Your reader should be left breathless and wanting more.

What are you working on now?

I am currently working on A Vamp To Remember. Caprice finds out at twenty five she is a vampire. Now wouldn’t that be a shock? She has to come to terms with something she always thought only existed in books and movies. Now she is told she is a vampire, needless to say she refuses to believe it. Till she falls in love with Zan. A very handsome vampire that is more than happy to help her come to terms with her denial.

Any professional advice for other authors?

I think the one thing I would say is never give up. No matter what is thrown at you. One publisher may not like your work but one may love it. Keep your head up and be determined. Believe in yourself and never let one person’s opinion crush your dreams. Make sure you have a good support system in place for those times when you need the encouragement. We all have those days when it seems easier to just quit. I have been there and still go through it.

What is the most memorable book you’ve read?

I think it would have to be C.S. Lewis’ The Lion The Witch And The Wardrobe. I read it at a very young age and fell in love. He took me on a journey I will never forget. His stories of far off fantasy lands just wowed me. I’m still amazed by his creativeness and vivid characters. He really is an amazing writer. To be able to take someone on such an other worldly adventure is true talent. I was very excited when the movie came out. To see his story come to life on the big screen and see my kids enjoy it was great.

Do you have any pets?

I have two wonderful cats that I love dearly. Mac is a four year old tabby. He is a joy to be around. He just wants your attention all the time. Then there is Zoey. We have had her since she was four days old. I hand fed her after we found her and her litter mates. Her mother was killed and left a litter of kittens behind. She is a tabby with long hair and is about 2 years old. Animals have always been a big part of my life. My father gave me my first cat when I was three and I have been an animal lover ever since. Me and my husband lost our beloved dog, Blue, of ten years just last year. It was devastating we still have his bowls and bed. We just can’t seem to part with them. He lives on in our memories and is still thought of daily. I have done animal rescue and believe strongly in animal rights. We also have a cockatiel her name is Angel. I treat my animals like my kids. They are very important to me.

What is your favorite television show?

Well I actually have a few but if I had to choose one I guess it would be Vampire Diaries. I am a hopeless vampire fan. Hence the paranormal books I write. I love anything paranormal. I like the fact that anything you can imagine falls under the paranormal umbrella. I love a strong and sexy vampire. Gets me every time.

Thank you for sharing with us.

April Dawn

4 responses to “Interview – Tabitha Blake

  1. Tabitha, you rock! I love your advice about never giving up–to follow your dream! Don’t allow anyone to crush your hopes and what you’d like to accomplish in your life! Thanks for that wonderful advice!

    • It is hard to be a writer. I just want new writers to know we all struggle. Weather it is in the beining or even now, I still struggle. I think we need to try to inspire new writer to never give up their dream. Without books we would be really missing out. Being a writer is such a gift. To be able to paint a picture in a readers head, that is an amazing accomplishment. I’m glad you enjoyed it.
      Tabitha Blake

  2. Thank you April. I really enjoyed talking with you. It is really nice to just let your hair down and talk. I get so wraped up in writing, sometimes I forget to just let loose and have a good time.
    Tabitha Blake

  3. I was really happy to interview you today. Thanks for taking the time out for it.

Leave a Reply

