Interview – Marianne Stephens/April Ash


Today we welcome one great author with a split personality.
Welcome Marianne Stephens, and welcome April Ash.

How did you get started writing?

I started reading Barbara Cartland and Georgette Heyer romance books and was hooked! From there, I moved to contemporaries and paranormal romances. A voice inside my head kept telling me to write a book, so I decided to try! I wrote an awful first romance book, sent queries to agents, and actually had two ask to read partials and one who wanted a full. Got rejections, but the agent who requested the full told me I needed DIALOGUE in a romance book…I’d written most of it as narrative. I joined RWA and Mid-America Romance Authors and took some writing seminars to learn what was needed to write a much better romance book!

What do you dislike most about what you do?

Writing the dreaded “middle of the book”. No matter how much I plan and plot, I always get stuck mid-way through the book and experience brain freeze/writer’s block.

What achievement are you most proud of?

Selling that first book and earning the label of published author is a wonderful experience!

What part of a manuscript do you most enjoy writing?

The beginning. I like to start my books with dialogue. I think it catches a reader’s attention immediately, and gives me a chance to present the hero and/or heroine right away.

How would describe your voice?

Down to earth; everyday, ordinary conversational style. I want a reader to feel comfortable and relate to my characters, so I write the story as if I were actually telling it to someone in a conversation.

What is your favorite television show?

More than one! NCIS, Numb3rs, all the CSI programs.

What is the most memorable book you’ve read?

I’m a Shakespeare addict and loved his works. But, my favorite romance book is “The Lemon Cake” by Judith Stafford.

Do you have a hobby/favorite pastime?

I love bowling and playing party bridge (nothing serious).

Where can fans follow you?

I have two pen names. Marianne Stephens writes sensual, mainstream romances (contemporary and paranormal). http://www.mariannestephens.net. April Ash writes erotic romances. http://www.aprilash.net. “We” blog at http://romancebooksrus.blogspot.com and also at http://sevensexyscribes.blogspot.com. “We” have a monthly newsletter with a monthly contest. To subscribe, email marianne@mariannestephens.net or april@aprilash.net.


Thanks for interviewing me…enjoyed the questions! Marianne/April
—-
And we at A History enjoyed having you. Check out her latest, Anything You Can Do, at Breathless Press.

April Dawn

3 responses to “Interview – Marianne Stephens/April Ash

  1. Great interview Ladies!

    I love your comment about selling your first book and gaining the title of published author. That really is a great feeling isn’t it?

    CSI huh? I happen to be a CSI fan myself. Well, that is all but the New York version. I don’t care for Gary Sinece (sp)

    I love Bowling too, but unfortunately due to a neck and shoulder injury I can’t do it as much as I would like. My kids bowl in a league every Saturday and I love watching them.

  2. Thanks for commenting, Shiela…we have some things in common!

    And a big thanks to April for doing my interview!

  3. And thank you as well. We appreciate your visit to our couch.

Leave a Reply

