Interview – Tess MacKall


All right, today we have Tess MacKall visiting with us. Hello Tess.

What do you love most about what you do?

I love most the fact that I’m creating scenarios in my books that
are a lot like life. The idea of taking characters and giving them
life, making them real so they are like old friends to my readers
is very rewarding.

What do you dislike most about what you do?

I’m bothered by two things mostly. Some of the unethical practices
in the publishing industry and the fact that authors sometimes have
to fight so hard to be treated fairly. And I hate it when I have one of
those days that the words just refuse to make it to paper.

What achievement are you most proud of?

The fact that I’ve studied the writing craft and worked
diligently to make sure my work is of the best quality
possible.

What part of a manuscript do you most enjoy writing?

The opening. It sets the tone for the rest of the work and is where
my ideas really start to flow.

What part of a manuscript do you least like writing?

I always hate writing the endings because it’s like saying
good bye to old friends. It can sometimes be very emotional
for me.

How would you describe your love scenes?

Incredibly sensual, graphic, detailed, packed with
emotion, and I never stint on words.

How would describe your voice?

I have three distinct voices. One is sort of “chick-lit” and quirky, another
is “Old-world charm”, and still another is very edgy.

What are you working on now?

I’m finishing up a post-Civil War novel. My first attempt at
historical and I’ve loved every second of writing it. Even those
days when the words refused to come, and I was bogged
down in research. It’s taken months to get it just right.

What is your favorite television show?

The only TV I watch is NCIS starring Mark Harmon.
He’s so sexy.

What kind of music do you like?

Rock and Country/Western. Southern Rock is the
best. Lynyrd Skynyrd. ZZ Topp, Allman Bros. George
Thorgood, etc.

Do you have any pets?

I have three dogs. Jack and Jill who are brother and sister muts. And
Sheba who is a mix of Sharpei and Shepherd.

Do you have a hobby/favorite pastime?

I love to read, cook, watch ACC basketball, and I am continually
changing the interior of my home.

Where can fans follow you?

Website, twitter, myspace, SNS blog, FAB blog, NNN blog.

Thanks for coming by to visit with us.
—-
April Dawn

Leave a Reply

