Overwhelmed


     Ever feel like you just don’t have enough hours in the day to accomplish the never ending list of things you need to do. I know this feeling well. I use to get up and become so over whelmed with all the things I needed to do that I got nothing done. It lead to a lot of wasted days.

     I would get up with good intensions to get things done. But when I would sit at my computer it all seemed to scream at me. I needed to do crits, write, blog, get school work done and apply crits to my work. Not to mention the everyday thing that needed to get done. So I would sit and try to pick one thing to do but the other things kept getting in the way. If I was writing I kept thinking I need to do crits. If I was doing crits I kept thinking I need to write a story for school. I would get so frustrated I would quit and leave it all for the next day.

     The problem with putting it off was I would get so behind I’d become stressed and not sure where to start. This seemed like a never ending and gut wrenching cycle for me. As a writer you really have to be able to use your time wisely. So I sat and thought how can I fix this? I knew it had to come to an end.

     The thing I came up with was putting myself on a schedule. It was amazing.  All of a sudden I was getting things done and even had spare time. Wow! I couldn’t believe something so simple could make such a difference. I get up knowing what my day consists of. I can push aside other tasks because I know they have a day all to themselves to be done.

     My schedule is very simple but has lifted a great weight off my shoulders. This is my weekly schedule.

     Mon.: Blog

     Tues.: Crits

     Wed.: Chapters for my WIP

     Thur.: School

      Fri.: Apply crits to my work

     It’s really worked for me. I find, I can get things done and sometimes even start on what I need to do the next day. Or just take the rest of the day off without feeling guilty about it. It has really eased my mind. I know this may not work for everyone, but I think we all have a certain way we do things. I would love to hear what works for you. Do you do better on a schedule or flying by the seat of your pants? It doesn’t really matter what works for you. The important thing is it works.

Happy Reading and Writing,

Tabitha Blake

4 responses to “Overwhelmed

  1. You are so right, Tabitha. There isn’t enough time in the day to do all that we have to do. Setting aside times to do specific projects is a great idea and has worked for me. For a time. Unfortunately I’ve let it lapse lately. It’s tough to get motivated when there seems to be so many things overwhelming me but your blog post has inspired me to get my butt in gear. 🙂

    • I know that feeling. I get bogged down sometimes too.And it sure is hard to dig yourself out of that hole. LOL Being on a schedule is the only way I can get anything done.

  2. Great post, Tabitha. You just described me!! I get up in the morning with so many things swirling around my brain, and I sit in front of my computer so overwhelmed I end up getting nothing done.
    I’m going to try organising myself a little better.

    • Before I put my schedule into place, I was getting nothing done. It is amazing how getting nothing done can be so exhausting. It was the mental stress of it all. I was more tired when I got nothing done than when I did. Now I seem to be able to get things done much easier.

Leave a Reply

