Through The Eyes Of Another


Through The Eyes Of Another.

Hello everyone. Today I would like to talk about Deep point of view. Dpov helps you get deep into your character’s mind which in turn helps your reader become the character. Dpov is more than showing the actions your character takes; it gets inside their head, right to the heart of their emotions.
Without using dpov, your character may come across as two dimensional, simply going through the motions, but you never get to see what is truly going on behind the scene.
When writing, if you watch a scene as a whole like a person manning a camera, then you may be writing more in the omniscient pov. In order to get into a character’s dpov you need to change cameras. Try looking out from the one behind your character’s eyes. This will enable you to essentially become your characters: see what they see, touch what they touch, feel what they feel, etc, etc.
Let’s try a little exercise to get into dpov.
The set up: your character is visiting a friend. The apartment is a mess. Your character is looking at the filthy coffee table. Describe what she sees, also, how she feels about it.
Here is my version. Stacy is my main character and Amy is her friend.
Stacy sat down on the edge of the couch. She tried to set down her mug, but there was no room on the cluttered coffee table. A stack of Vogue magazines had toppled, spilling over most of the surface. Sunflower seed shells formed a small mountain beside a glass with something yellow and fuzzy, floating in an inch of rotten milk.
Gross. What a health hazard. How could a person live like this?
Before heading to the bathroom, Amy had told her to make herself comfortable.
Yeah, not bloody likely. She didn’t even want to breathe in fear of what could be floating around. Bacteria, Mold, and God only knew what else.
Her exposed ankles tingled and itched. She shivered and bent down.
Little brown dots covered her skin. Fleas! The mug crashed to the floor, splashing coffee on her white shoes. She slapped at the bugs, hoping to dislodge them.
Oh, God, they’re probably all over me. In my hair.
Okay, that’s it. Time to leave.
Stacy grabbed her purse off the couch.
“Amy, I’ll wait for you in the car.” She stepped over a pile of dirty laundry and rushed to the door.
Notice I never used the words, saw, heard, or felt. They basically are not needed. I became the character. I described how I/she felt and what I/she saw. I showed this through the character’s thoughts.
A fantastic trick some authors use to get into a character’s dpov is writing scenes in first person. I use this trick and it really helps me to get deep into my character’s mind. I just have to remember to make sure I go back and change all the, I’s and my’s.
Writing in dpov also eliminates telling.
Here is an example of the same scene above written out of dpov. Notice the telling.
Stacy sat down on the edge of the couch. She tried to set down her mug, but there was no room on the cluttered coffee table. She saw a stack of vogue magazines that had toppled, spilling over most of the surface. She then noticed a small mountain of sunflower seed shells.
What a health hazard, she thought.
She felt the skin on her exposed ankles tingle and itch. She saw that her skin was covered by little brown dots.
Fleas, she thought. Frantically, she brushed them away. She knew she had to leave.
I hope this helps.
Remember, become one with you characters!
Until next Saturday, happy writing

6 responses to “Through The Eyes Of Another

  1. Excellent post and lesson as well. Thank you so much!

  2. You are very welcome, Margie.
    LOL, I guess my post got bumped up! Just ignore the happy Saturday and make that happy Friday!
    Dpov is something I have struggled with–still do.
    I struggled with telling as well. I finally realized showing and dpov go hand in hand!

  3. Michael Bingamon

    Good Stuff!
    It takes real effort to write with that much thought. Good blog.

  4. Great blog. It is hard to write deep POV but you really have to if you want the reader to connect with your characters. Other wise they feel like they are on the outside looking in. With deep POV they become the Character. Good Job!

  5. Thank you very much, Michael.

  6. Thank you, Tabitha. It can be hard to write in dpov. But it gets easiers as you go. As soon as you see the words, saw, felt, watched, heard, you know you are out of dpov, lol. But remember, there are times when you will need to write out of dpov.

Leave a Reply

