Writing in SLOMO.


This happens to me every time I get close to finishing a book. The earth begins to slow on its axis. Cars on the road and people walking along the sidewalk seem sluggish. Even my dog takes more naps.

I realize full well what is happening. I am nearing the end of my WIP. I will soon have a completed manuscript. But what should have taken days to complete has turned into weeks, and still those last few chapters remain unwritten. I have only pages to go. I continue to rework a number of scenes, adding narrative in, editing it back and then adding more in again. All of this putzing rather than push ahead to the finish line.

What is wrong with me? I like my ending. I don’t have writer’s block. And I am looking forward to completing the novel. I just––dawdle. I think this reluctance, on my part, to finish the manuscript has something to do with the end of the journey. Some sort of twisted form of writer’s separation anxiety.

I know very well, that no mater how slow I write, the plot will eventually resolve and my characters will live HEA. Or in the case of my latest novel, they sail off into the sunset, literally. And I can always revisit them in rewrite and revisions, right? Actually, this little end-of-the-novel drama makes me smile. I’m glad I care about my characters. And, as odd as this sounds, I will miss interacting with them every day.

I’m not really worrried about getting to that last page. I know that eventually, over the next days or weeks the voice in my head is going to get louder and louder. JUST FINISH THE DAMN BOOK!

And I will. Slowly.

G. Jillian Stone

There are fields in time that burn with desire. Meet me there.

Jillian is currently finishing the second book in The Yard Men Series. Set in late Victorian London, Scotland Yard detectives have never been as wickedly sexy or as brilliantly clever. To read more about her latest work in progress, THE SEDUCTION OF PHAETON BLACK, please drop by her website: www.gjillianstone.com

Leave a Reply

