Interview And New Release With Jane Beckenham


Today’s chat is with New Zealand author Jane Beckenham. Jane writes both contemporary and historical romance and next week (Tuesday May 25th) sees her 10th book released. HE’S THE ONE is being released by
http://www.samhainpublishing.com

Abbey: Jane. Tell us a bit about He’s the One.

Jane: Well, HTO is set here in New Zealand, actually in Auckland where I live, a city known as City of Sails, because we’re surrounded by harbor on both sides, the Tasman Sea on one side and the Mankau Harbour on the other. I wanted to write about a heroine who was a wedding planner, I think because secretly it’s a job I would love to do. And my hero, well he is just pure hunk material. He owns vintage cars, and in particular a red Mustang. When I was out ‘doing lunch’ with authors Eve Summers and Melody Knight one day, this guy drove up and parked beside us in his red mustang. He walked right by. Oh it was drool heaven!

Reviews so far have been great….

Review from Single Titles…. “Jane Beckenham scripts
a beautiful tale woven with remarkable insight to
the emotions of a new couple finding their way. He’s
the One reminded me a lot of the emotions you feel
when you find someone special you’re attracted to.
I thought it believable and felt like I had stepped into the
story with Taylor and Cade. Curl up with a festive drink
and spend the day enjoying this remarkable story.”
Read more….

And from Romance Junkies… HE’S THE ONE by Jane Beckenham is a unique story. So many parts of the plot had this reviewer laughing out loud. The chemistry between the characters is strong enough to keep the reader turning the pages. I would recommend this book for the romantics out there that are looking for a fun, simple read to relax with.

Here’s the blurb: Taylor Sullivan doesn’t trust Cupid, but she plays one for a living. As a successful wedding consultant, she creates a couple’s ultimate fantasy—even though she’s never managed to create her own. And when her clients start asking her for wedding night advice, she’s sensible enough to know when to enlist help.
Cade Harper knows two things about women. They either abandon him, or use him as a walking bank. He doesn’t do commitment, and marriage is a dirty word—witness the string of broken hearts he’s left in his wake
Warning: Contains explicit, straight-to-the-heart sex between a hopeless romantic heroine and an abandon-all-hope hero. No need to dress up for this party—just curl up with a glass of bubbly and a box of tissues!

Abbey: He’s The One is quite quirky, I mean the opening line is out there.

Jane: The opening line Virginity is overrated came to me one night while I couldn’t sleep. My poor heroine is a virgin and her clients (the brides) keep asking her questions about sex she can’t answer. Like a sensible business gal she decides she’s going to learn a new skill!

Abbey: What do you think books set in New Zealand bring to your work.

Jane: Well I’d like to think I can bring a sense of NZ life and culture. I mean we’re upside down and when the northern hemisphere is deep in snow for Christmas, it’s summer here and all about bbqs and the beach. I think that is why I tend to set a lot of my stories around summer time, so I can showcase our different worlds. New Zealand has some spectacular native plans one of which is the Pohutukawa and is our ‘NZ Christmas tree” For example my book Always a Bridesmaid was set in Rotorua and the Ureweras – in the very heart of Nzs North Island, an area steeped in Maori culture and myth and legend which featured in the book. It’s also an area my husband and I lived in over 25 years ago.

Abbey: Do you write every day?

Jane: This is where I cough and splutter and hang my head. I should be, in fact I usually do, but at the moment I’ve been a tad slack and had some time off. I’ve even discovered the joys of window cleaning – which is incredibly sad and pathetic. But I’m slowly getting back into it, now the writing well is getting refilled with some down time, not something I do easily!

Abbey: Since you set a lot of your books in New Zealand, tell us a bit about life there.

Jane: Well NZ is a special place and of course if you saw the Lord of the Rings movies, you will have noticed a lot of our landscape. We’re 2 islands, (the North Island and South Island – not very original I know) though there is a tiny third one way at the bottom called Stewart island. Our native language is Maori and we’re officially part of Polynesia. We have a sub-tropical climate and a population of only 4 million. A nation for outdoor activities, anything from surfing and sailing to bungee jumping and skiing. Plus of course Rugby which is our national sport.

Abbey: What’s next on the writing front?

Jane: He’s The One is being released on 25th May from Samhain, then in the coming months I have a Regency, A Traitor’s Heart and a sheikh story – In Love With the Sheikh being released from Red Rose Publishing.
I have a couple of other contemporaries I’m fine tuning, plus an historical set in the late 1600s (in France/England) which is in edit mode too. No rest for the wicked.

Abbey: Thanks Jane for popping in to chat to us. How can readers find you?

Jane: Thanks for having me Abbey. You can check out my web site at Jane Beckenham.com and I am on twitter

It’s Abbey again. So Jane’s been kind enough to gift to one lucky commenter a pre-released copy of He’s The One. 🙂 So if you’d like a chance to win, leave a comment. 🙂 I’ll draw the winner on Sunday.

11 responses to “Interview And New Release With Jane Beckenham

  1. HTO sounds very hot! And it has the added bonus of immersing me in New Zealand–as you mentioned I only know how beautiful your native land is from LOTR. 🙂

  2. Congrats on your upcoming release. I love to travel and I hope I can travel to NZ sometime. I am fortunate that my family and I did live in Australia and other places while growing up.

    deb ;0)

  3. I’ve always wanted to visit NZ. If I lived there I think I’d write about it all the time too.

    🙂

    S.J.

  4. I’m going to try to leave another comment . . . my last one didn’t show. Anyway, I would love to learn more about New Zealand. It’s such a beautiful place. 🙂

  5. Hey Jane,
    Nice interview. congrats on the newest release. I’ll have to check it out and maybe go exploring on your website. Love to do that, you never know what you might learn about an author.

    Robin
    Robbibird3@aol.com

  6. Cathy MacDonald

    Hi Jane and Abbey,

    Your 10th book Jane? Wow, big congrats on that, and on all the upcoming stories you are working on for us.

    I just peeked at the excerpt for He’s The One, over at the Samhain site, and it sounds like it would be a total kick to read.

    Have a wonderful weekend, ladies.

    caity_mack@yahoo(dot)com

  7. Okay, trying to reply to all your lovely comments, but i seem to have a problem and i actually don’t see the comments – thanks kelli for emailing me them so i can read them at least….okay, so if this works i’ll try again and reply personally.
    Jane

    • abbeymacinnis

      I have to apologize about this week’s post. I’m not one known for being a technological genius. 🙂 I’ll be checking for comments off and on throughout the weekend, so don’t worry if yours doesn’t show up. It’ll be there, and it will put you in the drawing to win a copy of He’s The One. 🙂

      Thank you everyone for your comments and for putting up with my inept techie self. LOL

      Kelli aka Abbey

  8. Ladies, kelli is graciously sending me your comments so i can read them. Thank you for them and the lovely comments. Hopefully you can read this. Yes, NZ is a great place to live, great for brining up kids, but like everywhere we have our problems. Yes LOTR did us proud with the scenery shots. Did you know that Director Peter Jackson is now Sir Peter. yes he got a knighthood (bestowed by the Queen).
    Jane

  9. janebeckenham

    Hello everyone, Just wanted to say thanks to Kelli for having me here and also for relaying all the comments because for some reason i couldn’t see them, though i could post a reply. How weird is cyber space!
    Anyway, i’d like to announce the winenr…Imaginary drum roll here…..Anitra!!!

    Anitra. I’ll be emailing you shortly.
    Thanks again everyone for popping in… i hope you love reading HE’S THE ONE. don’t forget it is released on Tuesday from http://www.samhainpublishing.com

    Happy reading everyone
    Jane Beckenham
    http://www.janebeckenham.com

  10. Would you believe it these comments only came through today!!!!! i mean this is about 2-3 weeks later! But gang i think i emailed replies via Abbey at the time, if anyone felt they were ignored, please accept my apologies!

    Jane

Leave a Reply

