Riding the tiger.


I have now officially crossed over into the twilight zone of my career as a writer. I have been wrangling with agents lately.

Oh yes, I know what you are saying. Gee, not a bad problem to have.

All I have to say is just wait until you get there. It’s like riding a wild tiger. I would just as soon let go and fall off, but the ride is so spectacular, I dig my fingers into the short hairs of the beast and hang on even though my stomach lurches and my heart aches.

Here’s the just of it: A new agent from a well known agency wants to represent THE YARD MAN. She has worked as an editorial consultant for years, but is just getting started as an agent.  She says she will be working closely with the president.  She is not interested in THE SEDUCTION OF PHAETON BLACK at all. Thinks the sex scenes are coercive. My take is that as a new agent, she does not want to go out with such a controversial ms. Can I blame her? I am grateful, however, that she is willing take on THE YARD MAN, the historical, romantic suspense that just finaled in the Golden Heart.

So, at the advice of my sister GH finalists, I put everyone who has a full manuscript on notice. Several of those agents read the manuscript right away and have already gotten back to me. One of those agents sent me this amazing, complimentary rejection and left the door open. She totally gets THE YARD MAN and THE SEDUCTION OF PHAETON BLACK, but wants changes if she decides to represent the ms. We may get together at the RWA Nationals.

I got the most glowing rejection I have ever received from a third agent who read the full ms. but can’t figure out how to sell cross-genre.

Finally, I have one full manuscript left, floating out in the litterarrius nebula. Wish I could name names, but in the interest of my fits and starts writing career, I had better not.

At the moment, I am exhausted by this game of agents and queries and rejections. I am trying to concentrate on finishing up my current WIP. Writing is the only thing keeping me sane at the moment.

I am sticking to my brand. My voice. I know the direction I want to go with my writing. It may take me longer to get published. Someone out there has to recognize that my work is not entirely like the rest of the romance writers out there, nor are my stories.

Oddly enough, I am not afraid.

G. Jillian Stone

There are fields in time that burn with desire. Meet me there.

Jillian is currently finishing the second book in The Yard Men Series. Set in late Victorian London, Scotland Yard detectives have never been as wickedly sexy or as brilliantly clever. To read more about her latest work in progress, THE SEDUCTION OF PHAETON BLACK, please drop by her website: www.gjillianstone.com

2 responses to “Riding the tiger.

  1. Jill, Thanks for the update. l’ve been wondering how you were doing. Do you think you want to make changes the second agent wants?

  2. Regena Bryant

    Thanks for letting us in on the ‘ride’. Stick to your guns as you’ll get everything you want.

Leave a Reply

