Goals for the new year – Serious writing


I suggest to all romance writers that your join the RWA. They are awesomely helpful. After all, I was just reading the RWA newsletter and there were two articles which piqued my interest and made me realize I need a change.

The articles mentioned the things an author should do to become and remain successful as an author. I do all but two. The author of one article suggested making your writing a priority over the needs of others, but I can’t do that with a 2 year old and a newborn at home. The one I really fail on is goals. I set big goals with no intermediate or small ones and I don’t reward myself for completion of goals. I should set smaller and more achievable goals for the short term to help me along the way and make my bigger goals less daunting. So Intend to do just that. I will set my goals, and do periodic goal checks. Perhaps once a month. Here are my goals at the moment. I have two scripts I’m actively working on. One in editing and one in revision.

  • The one I’m editing.
  • I’m on chapter 16 of 25 chapters total.
    I will complete one chapter a day. I will complete all pre-submission editing by 1-20-2011 I will then spend 2 hours for 2 days researching placement and submitting the manuscript. The process will be complete by 1-24-2011 and I will move on to another manuscript.

  • The one I’m revising and completing.
  • I’m on chapter 4 of probably 20 chapters with 5-8 more to revise.
    I will revise 4 chapters per week, completing revisions by 1-22-2011 then write 1 chapter or 1000 words per day(whichever comes first) until the remaining chapters are complete. I will complete the manuscript by 2-1-2011. I will then begin edits of one chapter per day until the manuscript is completed (no later than 3-1-2011). I will then allow 2 hours for 2 days researching placement and submitting the manuscript. The process will be complete by 3-4-2011 and I will move on to another manuscript.

  • For reaching my goals each week, I will give myself a facial.
  • For reaching the book goals, I will allow myself to enter two contests I have my eye on.
  • For reaching both goals I will allow myself to take my revised MS to a convention and pitch it there.
  • I will keep you posted on how my goals are going. Wish me luck in sticking to/exceeding them.

    —-
    April Dawn -Author of Crushing Desire and
    Bound by Love available now through Breathless Press, All Romance, and Kindle.

    2 responses to “Goals for the new year – Serious writing

    1. Here’s wishing you good luck on obtaining your goals. You can do it!

    2. I stumbled across your blog over the festive period and I’ve been really enjoying all your reflecting/goal setting posts. I’m glad I’m not the only one trying to write with a toddler at home!

    Leave a Reply

    