Brain Freeze…


Brain Freeze, no not the Icee, or Slurppy kind. I’m talking, when you are in the middle of a story and you go blank.

Some people may call it writer’s block. I have tagged it Brain Freeze. I don’t know why it creeps up on us, but when IT DOES, if you are like me, it can stress me to the point that I’m tearing out my hair. 

How do we deal with it? Well, thankfully I’m not an “expert” on the subject. However, when I get the dreaded freeze, I do anyone of the following,

1). Read

2). Read some more

3). If reading doesn’t dull the ache, I use the idle time to catch up on my blogging.

4). If that doesn’t work I get caught up on my favorite blogs. Which basically means, reading again.

5). Catch a movie…anything to get the creative juices flowing again.

And last,but not least, 6). I cry out of frustration cuz none of the above worked.

The truth is, brain freeze, writers block or whatever we want to call it is simply a part of writing. Like any other obstacle that gets in our way on our journey to become published, it has to be overcome. The best way to do this, I feel, is to simply accept it, and let it run its course.

Perhaps, it is our brain’s way of telling us that we need that break from thinking, creating, writing. We need to rest the genius inside our heads, because he/she has been working on empty for the last month straight… 

It’s okay to put the muse away for a short bit. Let her take a short but well needed vacation. Don’t stress, you are a writer…a word warrior…eventually it will all come back to you.

Relax…that’s the key. Frustration will only drive you insane. Mom always told me, you can’t make lemonade with a dry lemon, but you can wait until a ripe one comes along and squeeze the hell out of it!

Happy reading, I’m off to find my ripe lemon!

Emma

Leave a Reply

