Family and Romance


Sorry for the delay folks. I have had no internet access until today as there is no wi-fi where I am at. So this is late for you guys.

What do we know about romance? What do we know about family? Can we write about it? I think that all of the classes that we take all together will help us make a happy romance. Do you now I don’t believe in romance per se but I believe in the “believability of romance”? What does that mean? It means that the story line that I write for you has to have the ability for you the reader to suspend disbelief in your understanding of the novel. You have to believe that the heroine is not so laughable as to do something as stupid as some of the characters do and that the hero’s are no so laughable as to fall for it. Kind of like real life.

I had a writing class and that was wha we discussed on one of our lessons-was the ability of the writer to have the reader suspend their common knowledge of how things work and believe the unbelievable. For example, you get pulled over for a traffic stop and you are able to miraculously move time backwards and not get that speeding ticket. Or that the guy whom you slept with really wasn’t dating your best friend after she told you and introduced you to him when he confirmed that he was dating her. The fact that a person who has a terminally ill disease that should die will not die. Suspending your common knowledge of that. And if you the writer can have your reader do that, then you have accomplished something a writer must do in order to have the reader read your story-believe you.

Do you know how many times when we are in school did I hear you must connect your story from paragraph to paragraph from my teacher? How do you do that? Well, what my senior English teacher said in high-school was that if the first and last sentenced of every paragraph can make a synopsis of your story, then you have a well written paper. Now can you do that in a novel? I don’t know that you can or you can’t. We can try an exercise. The article written by Tom Joyner under the Culture section, with the title, “On to the Next: keeping Family Traditions” which is found on page 29 in the July 2011 edition of Ebony Magazine which is the Collector’s Edition is a good article to this exercise with actually. Follow along with me:

“I’ll never forget the day my two sons said on national TV that their names were dumb…When I see kids today named
after athletes, cars and alcoholic beverages, I sometimes wonder why their parents went in that direction…Passing
on family traditions doesn’t have to include names.”

You have to read the rest of the article but this section should help. You can see a cohesive story begin to take hold for you to read. This I was told is the mark of a well written paper. Now, I am not saying that all novels can do this. I don’t believe that all well written stories have the ability to have this done. But they are a good start to writing your novel or short story.
Put together the ability to suspend believability with your cohesive first and last sentence exercise and you might have a well written novel. Because you now have a story written that is easy to follow and understand that entertains you the reader and the writer so that they have the gumption to finish the novel.

2 responses to “Family and Romance

  1. I think this rule works great for essays and makes them easy to follow. In my novels, however, often conversations between characters, unexpected surprises, etc., require a slightly different tactic. The hardest lesson for me to learn in telling a story is “keep your secrets for as long as you can.” If I am using the essay method, my secrets tumble out before the proper moment. Just my opinion. šŸ™‚
    Regina Duke

  2. I think that is a good point that you make. We have to keep our secrets and let them come out and not give everything away right away. I think that is good. Its hard for me too. But I am learning. Hopefully it will show when its all completed.

Leave a Reply

