Guest – Vonnie Davis – Strong Women Rock


Welcome our guest Vonnie Davis, author of STORM’S INTERLUDE


I love the typical alpha-male in romance, but what I love even more is when a strong female gets in his face and tells him what he can do with his alpha-nonsense. Don’t you? I mean, really…

In years past, heroines in many romances were frail, emotionally fragile, weepy things. When I’d read their stories, I’d grit my teeth and mumble remarks equivalent to the modern day slogan: Put on your big-girl panties and deal.

They weren’t reality. What is reality? Strong women.

Look around you; they’re everywhere. They’ve survived more of life’s storms than the Caribbean Islands have hurricanes. Yet women are still standing, still surviving and still struggling in this crazy world. Whether they’re corporate executives or stay-at-home moms or single mothers holding down two jobs to keep hearth and home together, they’ve all brought multi-tasking to an art form. Women are steel wrapped in warm, loving flesh.

So to honor women’s strength—whether innate or gleaned from the school of hard knocks—I create strong heroines in my books.

These are women, like you and me, who have turned adversities into advantages. Women, who like the old toy “weebles,” wobble under the weight and strain of life’s many problems, but they don’t fall down.
When I’m starting a new story, I try to create my characters from the inside out. First I decide on their points of pain. We all have them. Perhaps we feel our parents loved a sibling more than us. Or we have feelings of abandonment because our fathers were absent. Perhaps there’s a weight issue we’ve battled most of our lives, or fears of public speaking or heights or confining spaces. How have we been hurt in the past? These are our points of pain; things that make us act and react in a certain way to situations.

Then I decide on education levels and interests. I choose a favorite color and food cravings. Will my heroine crave chocolate or cheesecake? When she’s angry, will she grab a pint of Ben and Jerry’s or snatch an apple? What things pluck my characters’ last nerve? Lastly, I think about appearance. For what does it matter what they look like if I don’t have them nailed emotionally and mentally? They need to be complex, multi-layered women just like all of you.

We’ve all gotten into situations that once we got out of it, we’ve stated, “Never again.” That’s what has happened to my heroine in Storm’s Interlude. While Rachel was reeling over the sudden death of her father, a man entered her life under the guise of taking care of her while she mourned. He wormed his way into every aspect of her world while she was blind with grief. Slowly verbal abuse began, followed by physical abuse. Finally her eyes opened, and she ended the relationship. Now she’s determined never to back down from a man again. This is the inner conflict that propels her. So when she meets a handsome man with an overbearing personality, she reacts as any woman would. She puts him in his place—repeatedly.

Early today I received an email from the One Hundred Romances project. They’re on a quest to find the best one hundred romances of 2011, published by ePublishers. Since my publisher, The Wild Rose Press, publishes full-length novels in both paperback and eBook, I entered Storm’s Interlude. Imagine my shock when it was given a 5-Star rating and added to the list of the top romances for this year! I’d love to share the review:

I’m in love with this book! Amazing! Storm was just so… Wow. And Rachel was just darling. Our hero was just a magnificent piece of man, and our heroine was a lovely complex woman who felt all the same things any other woman would have felt. What I enjoy the most was that even the secondary characters were amazingly well written and added a wonderful blend to the story as a whole.

Vonnie Davis wrote such wonderful real characters that once I started this book I finished it in hours! I’m disappointed with myself because I skipped over this book originally when it was on the list of books to review. This author is now on my auto-buy list. Please keep them coming Ms. Davis!

Please drop by my blog to visit. http://www.vintagevonnie.blogspot.com.
My website is http://www.vonniedavis.com

2 responses to “Guest – Vonnie Davis – Strong Women Rock

  1. April, thanks for having me here today. I love talking about all aspects of writing. It’s what I do; it’s who I am.

  2. Thanks for stopping by and sharing with us.

Leave a Reply

