Thanksgiving Thoughts


by Kay Springsteen

Although my mother emigrated from England, she embraced the Thanksgiving holiday as one where we would gather as a family, and we had our food traditions of turkey and all the embellishments of that meal. The house smelled incredible starting the week before because Mom would bake pies and cookies every day. The lingering scent of sugary treats baking mingled with the savory aroma of roasting meat on Thanksgiving morning, and our stomachs were all growling by midday. But we had other traditions also…parades in the morning, football games in the afternoon, and the start of Christmas season programming on TV later that night (yes, definitely dating myself here).

As Thanksgiving approaches this year, once again I realize I have much to be thankful for. Family and friends, for certain. Home and hearth. Health. And my writing. I still have a muse whispering in my ear, and people still seem to like reading what I write. But with all I’m grateful for, all the contentment with what I have, that doesn’t mean I’m complacent. I still have goals and a lot of these pertain to my writing and editing careers. After a pause for an attitude of gratitude, I’m going to be setting my goals for the New Year.

Whether or not you celebrate Thanksgiving, what are you thankful for? And do you have thoughts of goals and plans for your future? Things you can be grateful for in the future?

Leave a Reply

